Grants and Awards
MSD - ANZBMS Clinical Research Excellence Award

Background of the award:

MSD, through the Merck Research Labs havealong history in bone research and continue to achieve clinical innovations in this field. While the scientists at Merck are dedicated to exploring new ways to address health problems, they also recognize that the best scientific discoveries often emerge from collaboration with clinical researchers outside Merck laboratories. This award is offered to recognise and support clinicians in or within 10 years of postgraduate training who are contributing to clinical research in the field of boneā€related disorder.


  • The applicant must biomedical graduate, and a financial member of ANZBMS at the time of the application.
  • The applicant must be in or within 10 years of postgraduate training.
  • The applicant must have made a substantial contribution to the work and be first/senior and presenting author of the abstract to be delivered at the 2018 ANZBMS Scientific Meeting.

Selection criteria:

The award is based on the quality ofasubmitted abstract detailing clinical research of the applicant presented at the ANZBMS 2018 Scientific Meeting. Particular attention will be paid to the research's clinical applicability and potential for translation to the clinic or further development. The work can be presented as either oral or poster presentation. The winner will be announced at the 2018 Annual Scientific Meeting.

Award Amount:

$1000 (AUD). To be used towards the cost of attending future ANZBMS scientific meetings or alternate educational meeting. The award will be claimed by submission ofareport and receipts for flights, transfers, accommodation and/or registrations costs to ANZBMS. In the event a recipient attends a meeting costing less than $1000, the award can be used towards the costs of more than one future educational meeting.


The Program Organising Committee will be responsible for selecting a short list of candidates for this award on the basis on the quality of abstract submitted for presentation at the 2018 Scientific Meeting.

Applicants are only eligible to receive the award once.

Application Deadline

1 June 2018

Applying for this grant

Apply when you submit your abstract online at:



Previous Winners

Weiwen Chen

Thack Tran

Hanh Nguyen

Masakazu Kogawa

Syndia Lazarus

Belal Khan